Ability to move topics to new categories and suppress notifications

Problem

Sometimes communities grow, change, evolve. That seems to be often for my enterprise community. When this happens, sometimes categories are consolidated and we merge the topics. Unfortunately I've noticed that when I move a topic from category A to category B, and there are people subscribed to notifications for "new topics" in category B, they get notified....of all of them. Like for bulk-moving 10 topics, everyone gets 10 notifications.

Solution

Provide an option when bulk-moving (and possibly other operations, like tagging?) to suppress notifications so you aren't blowing people up with unnecessary notifications. This is definitely a sore spot because it feels like you're beholden to a particular structure unless you want to wake up the whole neighborhood to move a wall in your house.

Discuss this on our forum.